Welcome to the Cathedral Speech Team!

We are excited that you are interested in being part of our team.

Speech is open to all students in grades 7-12. 

2015 Season:  There will be a Speech Kick-off Meeting on Wednesday, Oct. 21st from 5:00-6:00pm in the Library.

2014-15 State Tournament Results:  Tom Hawkins finished 4th in Creative Expression and Marshall Muehlbauer was 7th in Informative Speaking as both medaled in the State Speech Meet on Friday. Congratulations Crusaders!

The Speech Team allows them the opportunity to compete individually and as a team member at speech invitationals and district contests, and possibly in the region and state meets. Each student has the opportunity to participate in one of thirteen areas of speech competition ranging from Great Speeches to Extemporaneous Speaking to Storytelling to Creative Expression. Speech competition is governed by the Minnesota State High School League. Competitions take place primarily on Saturdays during the second semester of school

Students must register for Speech by clicking on Online Registration.”  Click "Speech" under the School Year title to register once logged in.  There is also a fee of $175.

If you have questions about Speech, please contact Head Coach Laurie Larson.  Email



Date   Time Location Results
5:00pm CHS Library - Kick Off Meeting
11/7/15 9:00am Workshop
12/10/15 5:00pm Parent/Student Meeting
2/13/16 10:00am STMA
2/20/16 10:00am New London-Spicer
2/27/16 10:00am Princeton  
3/5/16 10:00am Sauk Centre
3/12/16 10:00am Milaca  
3/19/16 10:00am Melrose  
4/4/16 TBD Sub-Sections @ Cathedral
4/9/16 TBD Sections @ Annandale
4/15/16 TBD State @ Lakeville North

Staff and Roster

2015 Roster

Player Name
Ellie Botz
Liz Botz
Anthony Botz
Paige Danielson
Paul Decker
Tabetha Durdall
Sarah Dvoracek
Carmen Ebel
Maija Eickhoff
Rishi Gulati
Elizabeth Hamak
Thomas Hawkins
MacKenzie Huesers
Tess Jacobson
Keagan Kearney
Elyse Lewandowski
Elisabeth Markman
Josie Maus-Conn
Marshall Muehlbauer
Austin OKeefe
Jonathan Pfeiffer
Julia Schmitz
Emily Schneider
Michael Schoenecker
Celine Schoenecker
Kian Sia Su
Carolyn Sowada
Madeline Titus
Alexander Tomczik
Katherine Tomczik
Seth Walls
Hannah Windschitl
Rachel Wintheiser
Sydney Wolf

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Laurie Larson
Assistant Coaches: Hy Larson