Welcome to Cathedral Trap Club!

Cathedral High School Trap Club (Spring season)

Trap Club is open to all students grades 7-12. 

Practice is held on Monday's at Deltone/Luth Gun Club in St. Cloud after school (Feb. 27-May 22).  State competition is in mid-June.

2020:  There will be an information/sign up night on Feb. 25th at 6:30pm in the Commons.  

Participants need to provide their own shotgun, (Coaches will check to see if it is appropriate for the sport of trap.)  They must have a MN Firearms Safety Certificate as well.

Cost is $35 (paid to MNSHSCTL) when students register.  Each week costs $20 (target/shells), however a fundraiser is available through Stearns County Pheasants Forever to offset the cost of this.

For more information on Trap Club visit 

To register for Trap Club, please contact Joe Opitz.  Email.  Once you have emailed him, he will put you on the roster and additional forms will be sent to you to complete your registration.

2019 Highlights:
For the 2019 Minnesota State High School Clay Target League Season, Cathedral finished 2nd in Class 4A Conference-1 and will receive an award on June 13th when they travel to the State Shoot in Alexandria. Individuals placing in the top 25 in the conference by average were: Mens' - Mike Lyon 4th, Tyler Koopmeiners 10th, and Jacob Stolzenberg 18th; Ladies' - Elizabeth Nystrom 2nd, Ellie Fleming 8th, Autumn McBroom 9th, and Julia Knapek 18th. The Crusaders had 19 of the 38 team members finish the season with an average above 19 of 25 placing them in the highest average classification "Varsity".  Seniors on the team are Tyler Koopmeiners, Will Hjort, Nate Roelike, Julia Knapek, Seth Walls, and Mike Lyon. The team is coached by Joe Opitz and Mike Theisen. Congratulations on a great season and good luck at the State Shoot.


Staff and Roster

2019 Roster

Player Name
Spenser Amundson
Grant Anderson
Max Anderson
Carl Balfanz
Tyler Koopmeiners
Jack Borgstrom
Anthony Botz
Carter Bukowski
Reese Bukowski
Xavier Dubay
Ellie Fleming
Jonathan Hanson
Will Hjort
Daniel Kapsner
Benett Kiffmeyer
Bryce Knapek
Julia Knapek
Christopher Kurilla
Mike Lyon
Autumn McBroom
Jake Meyer
Elizabeth Nystrom
Charlie Peterson
Nate Roelike
Mya Schibonski
Jacob Stolzenberg
Sam Stolzenberg
Zach Stolzenberg
Chris Torborg
Seth Walls
Mason Wolf
Ashton Zabinski
Mark Zimny
Sam Zimny

Coaching Staff

Head Coaches: Joe Opitz, Brett Stolzenberg, Mike Henning